Eavor Yukon

The Yukon Chamber of Mines announced the winners of the 2021 Yukon Geoscience Awards

The Yukon Chamber of Mines (YCM) announced the winners of the 2021 Yukon Geoscience Awards. The YCM alongside the Yukon Government recognized the recipients of the Community Award, Member Award, and Leckie Awards in the Legislature on Tuesday, November 23rd. The awards were sponsored by Minto Explorations Ltd, Kluane Drilling, ATAC Resources & Eavor Technologies Yukon.

The Geoscience Forum and the awards banquet were canceled due to the recently announced state of emergency and limits on organized gatherings. YCM said, “Despite the cancellation of the Geoscience Forum and the awards banquet, it is still important to celebrate these exemplary and deserving recipients.”

The YCM congratulated BMC Minerals as the YCM Member Award Recipient for 2021 with their commitment to minimizing environmental impacts and maximizing economic benefits for local communities.

Glenna Southwick was recognized as the YCM Community Award recipient for her “unwavering, transparent and honest guidance on the policies and procedures for staking, recording and filing assessment on mineral claims in the territory, through her work at the Whitehorse Mining Recording Office.”

YCM President, Loralee Johnstone, says “The annual Yukon Geoscience Awards showcase the very best of individuals and corporations and what they contribute to Yukon. This year’s deserving winners are leaders in Yukon’s exploration and mining industry, and we deeply thank them for their continued contributions.”

Get In The Loop